Edinburgh Local Government Election Results

The Local Government Election results for Edinburgh’s 17 wards have been announced at Meadowbank Sports Centre following the vote on 4 May.

In total 63 councillors have been elected to represent the City of Edinburgh Council, with a 50.5% turnout for the city – up from 42.6% in 2012.

A full list of councillors elected is available on the Council website.

The breakdown of elected members by party is:

Scottish National Party: 19

Scottish Conservative and Unionist: 18

Scottish Labour Party: 12

Scottish Liberal Democrats: 6

Scottish Green Party: 8

Returning Officer Andrew Kerr announced the results throughout the day on Friday, 5 May.

He said: “This is a particularly busy time for politics, both nationally and locally, so I’m pleased that so many people have turned out to have their say in Edinburgh – even more than the last Local Government Election in 2012. Thanks to voters for taking the time to participate, demonstrating the  importance of local services to the public.

“I’d like to take this opportunity to thank our Election team too, whose hard work and dedication has enabled the smooth-running of this election. I also want to congratulate all new and returning councillors, and welcome them to their role at the City of Edinburgh Council – I look forward to working with them in the years to come.”

Turnout: 50.5%

Electorate: 370,692

Votes cast: 187,157

This year more than 580 people were employed as polling staff for the Local Government Election in Edinburgh, while a further 300 worked at the count on Friday.

Nominations are currently open to stand as a candidate in the forthcoming UK Parliamentary General Election on 8 June, closing on Thursday, 11 May. Full details are available online.

For further details of the results and the Local Government Election, please see the Elections section of the Council website.

Skip to toolbar